Elections 2019: Here’s the Uttar Pradesh Voting Percentage Till Phase 4 400

The importance of 80 Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh has always been major in all general elections in the country. In elections 2019 too how UP voters vote. And how many voters vote will decide the destiny of many Indian politicians

Elections 2019 are on in full swing in the country. Four phases of elections are over. The latest phase (Phase 4) was completed on April 29, 2019. However, in this general elections 2019, most voters are still trying to assess whether there is any kind of anti-incumbency factor at play. What this means? It means that if there is any voter sentiment that is strong or weak against the ruling government.

Whatever the case may be. The final result of general elections 2019 to be declared on May 23, 2019 by the Election Commission will be the deciding voice of the Indian public. Those results will let the world know what the Indian voter thought of the current government. And its achievements of the past five years.  

The UP Factor

What we are interested in understanding is how has the state of Uttar Pradesh fared. Similarly it is related in terms of voting in the four phases so far in Lok Sabha Election 2019. Uttar Pradesh is a very important state in terms of the number of seats that any party can hope to get in elections 2019.

Consider this fact that in 2014, the BJP managed to win 71 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP. This number helped the party to form the government at the centre.  

Read: Four lesser-known facts about Priyanka Gandhi

Voting Percentage

Let’s consider the voting percentage of Uttar Pradesh now:

PHASE 1 (April 11, 2019)

In UP, the first phase of polls was held on eight Parliamentary seats. This includes Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar.

In addition, according to the Election Commision of India, the Phase 1 voter turnout total across India was 69.50%.

The eight Lok Sabha seats in Western UP that went to polls on the day recorded a 63.69% turnout.

PHASE 2 (April 18, 2019)

UP had voters lining up to cast their vote for candidates contesting for 8 seats. Polling on the day sealed the future of a total of 85 candidates contesting on different party symbols. The seats that were to be decided were: Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Fatehpur Sikri, Nagina, Amroha, Mathura, Agra.

In this phase the total voting percentage of Uttar Pradesh was 62.3%.

According to the Election Commission of India, the Phase 2 voter turnout total across India was 69.44%.  

PHASE 3 (April 23, 2019)

The third phase of polling for ten Lok Sabha seats in UP also decided the electoral fate of many candidates. The polling for the third phase was held for ten Lok Sabha seats in the Rohilkhand region of the state. The seats were: Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Badaun, Aonla, Bareilly, Pilibhit.

The voting percentage for UP in this phase was 57.83%.

general elections 2019 schedule

PHASE 4 (April 29, 2019)

However, a total of 13 parliamentary constituencies in Uttar Pradesh went to polls in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha election 2019. As many as 152 candidates contested for 13 Lok Sabha seats in this fourth round of poll. The seats that went to poll were: Shahjahanpur, Kheri, Hardoi, Misrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun, Jhansi and Hamirpur.

According to the ECI, it was 64 per cent voter turnout all across India in phase four of Lok Sabha election.

The polling percentage for Uttar Pradesh was 56.79%.

Read: How Election Commission Implements Confusion by Design

Election Schedule Across India

The country is currently witnessing a seven-phased Lok Sabha election 2019 between April 11 and May 19. Since UP sends a maximum of 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha and based on its huge population and vast geographical area. the Election Commission of India (ECI) decided to hold elections in each of the seven phases in UP.

Voting for 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting and the final result will be on May 23.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest